Some industry classifications

Different databases use different industry classifications. Here is a (non-exhaustive) list of classifications:

SIC -Standard Industrial Classification

ICB -Industry Classification Benchmark

Classification of Dow Jones Indexes and FTSE. Used in Thomson One


The North American Industry Classification System

The standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the economy.


(choose GICS Maps)

Global Industry Classification Standard

Developed by Standard & Poor’s and MSCI Barra, GICS consists of 10 sectors, 24 industry groups, 68 industries and 154 sub-industries.


Thomson Reuters Business Classification system.

TRBC consists of four levels of hierarchical structure. Each company is allocated an Industry, which falls under an Industry group, then Business Sector, which is then part of an overall Economic Sector. There are 10 Economic Sectors, 25 Business Sectors, 52 Industry Groups and 124 Industries.


Orbis uses the NACE industry classifications made by the European Commission. They also have a convertor from other industry classifications to this NACE.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s